Speechless In Seattle


That is something I’d better not be. Come the second week of November I will be out in the great Pacific Northwest, behind a microphone, talking about InDesign to the people who know it better than anyone else on the planet. I’ve been invited to speak at the InDesign Conference Master Class at Adobe University from November 10–13. Yes, in 90 days I’ll be roaming the home of Starbucks, Jimi Hendrix, and InDesign. Order me a Venti Purple Haze. Lest you think I have been smoking wicker chairs, here’s the speakers page. Hey, if it’s on the internet, it must be true, right?

To say that I am excited about this opportunity is the understatement of the year. It is an honor, and great thanks go out to the stars of InDesignSecrets.com: David Blatner for inviting me, and Anne-Marie Concepción, for discovering this blog in the first place.

I’ve been in the audience for these things for so many years, it’s going to be weird to finally be the guy behind the mic. I can’t wait. These are my people. I’ve been reading their books and blogs for a very long time, but rarely joined in the conversation till now. Just being around all those brains full of InDesign knowledge is going to be great, and humbling. I’m used to being the go-to guy when it comes to InDesign, and Quark before that. But these are the capital G, Go-To Guys and Gals. I think I’m going to learn a ton while I’m out there. And being inside the mothership, at Adobe University only makes it all the more interesting. To a geek like myself, this is like the Willie Wonka factory tour. “See those Oompa Loompas, they’re coding a new Workspace that smells like milk chocolate.”

Once things are finalized I’ll post the titles of the sessions I’ll be doing there. We have some really fun and cutting edge stuff in the works. Before the conference this site will get a new look, and I hope to have some Publicious swag to distribute. Ah the joys of branding.

In the meantime, I’ll be filling my scuba tanks and taking the InDesign deep dive.

Ad hoc, ad loc, and quid pro quo,
so little time, so much to know.

3 Responses

  1. Congratulations, Mike! I couldn’t be happier for you. I’m just so sorry that I’ll miss your inaugural talk.

    I think the InDesign world has a lot to learn from you. I know I’ve been lucky to learn from you.

  2. Congrats Mike! I am ecstatic to have you join the ID gurus!!! Its high time us textbook publishers have a voice.

  3. I’m so pleased for you! This is a great move for you and I know you’ll have so much to bring to the conference. Wish I could be there to see it.

Leave a comment