Thanks Dad


On a purely personal note:

My dad passed away on Sunday July 20 after a long battle with cancer. I am very thankful to have been with him when he passed, along with the rest of our immediate family.

He was a remarkable man. A larger-than-life character to whom life was joyous game. A tireless provider for his family. Fun-loving, mischievous, creative and strong. He made friends everywhere he went, and he went everywhere. Everyone he knew became a character in his show, a player on his team. He was an athlete and a fierce competitor. He was a veteran who loved the American dream. He was a businessman who saw opportunities everywhere. He always greeted you with a smile, made you laugh, and told you to “drive slow” on your way home. It meant more than just “be safe,” it meant “take things easy.” I hope that his spirit of ease, optimism, kindness, and generosity never leaves me.

Thanks, dad.

4 Responses

  1. Hi Michael,
    I work in Evanston TPS with Cinnamon and am a grateful reader of your very informative and fun Web site. I just wanted to say that I am really sorry to hear about your father.

    I, too lost my dad to cancer, back in 2004. I understand the terrible sense of loss. Our fathers leave us too soon. I’m sure if our fathers had met, they would have been friends. My dad was a wonderful man, too.

    With best wishes,
    Lisa

  2. Thanks, Lisa. Reading you comment makes me glad I wrote this. I had debated whether to do it, but it was easier than letting people know one by one, and I felt like I had to say why I’d disappeared for 3 weeks. Now I feel like I can get back to my regular stuff. : )

  3. MIchael,

    I was sorry to hear about your father. There are no words that can be written that will make it easy through this difficult time. This was a lovely tribute to your Dad. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    Annmarie

  4. Mike,

    As I read your description of your father—Fun-loving, mischievous, creative and strong. He made friends everywhere he went, and he went everywhere—I can’t help but think how very much you are like him. His personality shines through yours. My deepest sympathy on your great lost.

    -Trisha

    Btw, that photo is priceless!

Leave a Reply

