Feed For Thought


Lately I’ve been wrestling with issue of whether to publish full or partial text feeds for RSS readers. On the one hand, there’s the partial feed virtues:

  • I like the idea of people coming to the site
  • As far as I can tell, the version of WordPress I’m using doesn’t track RSS readers, so I have no idea how many people are reading until they click through to the site.
  • I open myself up to splogs ripping off full content from the feed.
  • Cinnamon and I usually write really long posts, which might be more than someone wants to deal with in a reader.

On the other hand, I’ve read that full feeds don’t decrease readership, and they might actually increase it. I’ve also read that most people hate partial feeds, and some lose interest in blogs that don’t give them everything in their RSS reader. Truth be told, I am one of these people. So today I switched over to a full feed. Enjoy.

Oh and just to make me look like a doofus, Firefox crashed while I was updating my WordPress prefs, so the first time this post was published, it went out as a partial feed. Hee hee, I Iike kampooters.

2 Responses

  1. Thank you for the full feed. I happily click through to comment or read comments, but I have very few subscriptions that are only partial feeds.

  2. Thanks for the “feed”back, Michael. I probably should have gone full feed from the start. But I freaked out when I saw my content scraped and went in the opposite direction. I reacted like the record companies, when I should be thinking more like Radiohead. Live and learn.

Leave a Reply

