Adobe: Not Evil


Very nice to read over my morning coffee that Adobe has made good on their intentions to revise the Photoshop Express Terms of Service to make them a lot less evil. In my first look at Photoshop Express, I was pretty down on Adobe for writing themselves ownership of your content throught the Universe. I don’t really think they intended to be evil, but what’s written is what counts.

John Nack, the Senior Product Manager of Photoshop, explains the changes on his blog.

The main thing that I like about the changes is that when you terminate the service, all Adobe’s claims over your content are likewise terminated. We’ve moved from the pig to chicken in this bacon n’ eggs dish of committment. They do keep archived copies of your stuff, I would guess as protection against future claims of wrongdoing.

Adobe is also promising not to sell or license your content. Good good.

If you do sign up, be aware that you are granting the vast unknown Other Users a “license to view, download, print, distribute, publicly perform and publicly display Your Shared Content…” They, in turn, are supposed to give you credit, and they’re not supposed to make money off it or alter it. So I think what we have here is akin to the Flickr Creative Commons category of Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs license. I think I can live with that, so I’ll set up a Px account and see how it goes.

Somewhere in his underground lair, Dr. Evil is very disappointed.

Leave a Reply

